Key Moments in Soviet Composition

October 12, 2017

This William S. Newman Artists Series concert will feature UNC graduate students, faculty, and guest trumpeter Peter Auricchio. It is part of the biennial Festival on the Hill and is tied to several other events. Tickets are $15 general admission and … Continued

Rameau cantate Thétis

October 1, 2017

Come for an evening of music from the French Baroque featuring performances by UNC faculty members. Professors Marc Callahan (bass-baritone), Nicholas DiEugenio (baroque violin), Brent Wissick (viola da gamba), Lindsay Leach-Sparks (baroque flute), and guest Elaine Funaro (harpsichord) will perform works … Continued

Paganini’s 24 Caprices for solo violin

September 22, 2017

World-renowned violinist Edson Scheid will start the 2017-18 William S. Newman Artists Series with his performance of Paganini’s 24 Caprices for solo violin. Tickets are $15 general admission and $10 for students or UNC faculty/staff. Tickets will be available at the door.

WSN Series: Retracing the Avantgarde; Stefan Litwin, piano

March 3, 2017

This William S. Newman Series Artists Concert features world-renowned piano professor Stefan Litwin. General admission is $15 ($10 for students and UNC faculty/staff) and can be purchased at the door. Program 3 Klavierstücke op. 11 (1908) by Arnold Schoenberg Mäßig Langsame … Continued

WSN Series: Celebrating Monteverdi’s 450th Birthday

February 19, 2017

Join the music department as we celebrate the 450th birthday of Italian composer Claudio Monteverdi. Claudio Monteverdi (1567–1643) was the most significant composer in early seventeenth-century Italy. Born in Cremona, the son of a barber-surgeon, he was trained in the … Continued

WSN Series: Works by Bach, Beethoven, Crumb; UNC Music Faculty

November 6, 2016

Beethoven’s An die ferne Geliebte: Timothy Sparks, tenor; Thomas Otten, piano George Crumb’s Vox Balaenae (Voice of the Whale) for electric instruments: Brooks de Wetter-Smith, flute; Thomas Otten, piano; Brent Wissick, cello J.S. Bach’s Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht, BWV 211 (Coffee Cantata): Jeanne … Continued