Skip to main content

The Department congratulates Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor of Music Dr. Annegret Fauser on being ASCAP’s 2018 recipient of the  Virgil Thomson Award for Outstanding Music Criticism for her book Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring.Aaron Copland's Appalachian Spring by Annegret Fauser

The Virgil Thomson Award for Outstanding Music Criticism in the concert music field was awarded to Annegret Fauser for her work, Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring published by Oxford University Press. The book is a concise and lively introduction to the history of the work, its realization on stage, and its transformations over time. It combines deep archival research and cultural interpretations to recount the creation of Appalachian Spring as a collaboration between three creative giants of 20th-century American art: Martha Graham, Aaron Copland and Isamu Noguchi.

To read the full press release from ASCAP click here.

Annegret Fauser
Distinguished Professor of Music, Annegret Fauser
Comments are closed.